Wrestling is Geeky!   Leave a comment

“Geek” is really a catch-all term, isn’t it? When I say I’m a geek, it could mean a great many things: do I go to conventions? Do I play video games? Have I memorized the episode titles and plot threads for every episode of even the less-loved Star Trek shows like “Voyager?”

One thing that “geek” doesn’t usually apply to is this: professional wrestling fandom. Yet I am, irrevocably and undoubtedly, a wrestling geek. I know more useless trivia about the industry and its history than just about anything. I’ve been following it since I was a kid. It’s my favorite form of theater, the reason I’m interested in acting and has influenced my life in ways I’m not even aware.

When wrestling is good, it is extremely entertaining. When it’s bad, it’s just cheesy and hilarious, like watching an old episode of ‘Mighty Morphin’ Power Rangers.

While other geeks were moaning and complaining over, of all things, professional wrestling being shown on the Sci-Fi network, I was celebrating the rejuvenation of Extreme Championship Wrestling (how badly that turned out is another story.)

It’s an art to me. It’s a science that only a small percentage of our population could be good at. It’s more than just two people in tights pretending to hurt each other. I love it all: The loud, cheesy entrance themes.

The way that so often, ridiculous, unbelievably stupid things happen. The tyrannosaurus-sized entry ways. The audience participation. To put it simply: I love wrestling.

To put it loudly …

FINALLY! THE GEEK HAS COME BACK TO THE EAST TENNESSEAN!

This Sunday night, the Geek will find himself in a sea of 70,000 or more people in the Sun Life Stadium in Miami, Fla., to witness WWE’s biggest show of the year, WrestleMania XXVIII.

And now, for the benefit of my fellow fans and for anybody who ever enjoyed wrestling, even a little bit, here are my thoughts on the main events:

Daniel Bryan (c) vs. Sheamus

This is a tough one. Daniel Bryan’s YES YES YES gimmick has been tremendous, but Sheamus has been built up as being rather unstoppable. Plus, a Royal Rumble winner hasn’t cinched it at WrestleMania in five years, so I predict Sheamus will take the title here. And promptly rust it with his sweat.

CM Punk (c) vs. Chris Jericho

It’s been a banner year for CM Punk, as he’s raised himself from an Internet darling who never got a chance to an inexpendable future Hall-of-Famer. Chris Jericho hasn’t lost a step (he’s been doing DDP Yoga) and with these two, this’ll surely be the best wrestling match of the night. I just wish they had kept it at that instead of bringing in this melodramatic plot about alcoholism into the fold. Nonetheless, I think CM Punk will prove himself the “best in the world” and hang on to the title.

Triple H vs. The Undertaker

This one is being promoted with the moniker, “End of an Era.” For those who don’t know, Undertaker has won 19 times at WrestleMania without a loss, a record that’s become known simply as “the streak.” It’s going to be a real spectacle and a dramatic, psychological match, but there’s no way Undertaker will lose.

The Rock vs. John Cena

The last time international Hollywood movie star Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson competed at WrestleMania was nine years ago. He represents the “Attitude Era,” and with it all those lapsed fans who stopped watching as professional wrestling fell out of mainstream popularity in the early 2000s.

Since that time, John Cena has risen to the top of the promotion and stayed there … whether fans wanted him to or not. Cena’s been met countless times with an infamous dueling chant from crowds across the world — a high-pitched “Let’s go Cena!” from his young fans and teenage girls, countered by a much deeper and often louder, “Cena sucks!”

In spite of that, John Cena and the Rock are two of the absolute best ever.

This match is all about a generational gap, and it’s a bonafide dream match no matter which side of the fence you fall on.

John Cena’s right, though. Like it or not, he has to win. Is wrestling pre-determined? Of course. Is it fake? Perhaps.

Does that matter? You’ll have to ask me on Tuesday when I get back from Miami, but be warned.

I may not be able to respond verbally, having lost my voice at the “showcase of the immortals.”

Posted April 7, 2012 by positivejosh in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

